BCLA Arthur Terry Postgraduate Essay Prize now open (deadline Friday 4 September 2020)

Applications are now invited for the BCLA Arthur Terry Postgraduate Essay Prize, written in English on any aspect of Comparative Literature, to be submitted by Friday 4 September 2020.

The aim of the Arthur Terry Postgraduate Essay Prize is to recognise work of outstanding merit at Master’s level. There are two prizes of £200 and £100, and the winning entrants are also given one-year free BCLA membership.

Conditions for entry:

  1. The essay should have been written in the same academic year by a postgraduate student at Master’s level registered at an institution of higher education in the United Kingdom or Ireland and submitted for assessment within that institution.
  2. The essay should be on an aspect of comparative literature and be written in English (maximum 8000 words). For the purposes of the Arthur Terry prize, ‘comparative literature’ is defined as the study of the interaction of at least two bodies of literature (writers, genres, etc.), usually across languages.
  3. The essay should be submitted using the application form on the dedicated Arthur Terry Essay Prize page. It should adhere to the presentation guidelines specified on the application form.
  4. The entry requires a message from the student’s supervisor/tutor confirming the student’s status, the originality of the essay, the reasons for the mark awarded and that the essay is being submitted in its original form. This should be emailed separately by the deadline to the same two email addresses.
  5. Only one submission per candidate may be accepted, and no supervisor may submit more than three essays in any year.

Winning entries are eligible for publication in full on the BCLA website.

The prize is awarded in memory of Arthur Terry (1927–2004), who served as President of the BCLA for many years. Arthur Terry was Emeritus Professor in the Department of Literature, Film and Theatre Studies at the University of Essex, and one of the world’s most distinguished critics of Catalan literature for which he received many awards.

Scroll to Top