John Dryden Translation Competition


John Dryden Translation Competition

The deadline for entries for next year’s competition is 8 February 2021.  Entries for the 2021 competition will be accepted from September 2020; further information will be presented via the BCLA website as soon as available.

The British Comparative Literature Association organises a translation competition in memory of the first British poet laureate John Dryden (1631–1700), who was a literary critic, translator, and playwright as well as a poet. Sponsored jointly with the British Centre for Literary Translation at the University of East Anglia, the John Dryden Translation Competition awards prizes for unpublished literary translations from any language into English. Literary translation includes poetry, prose, or drama from any period. 

There are three prizes of £350, £200, and £100; other entries may receive commendations. All three prizes also include one-year BCLA membership.

Prize-winners are announced in the summer on the BCLA website and prizes are presented thereafter every year at the BCLA ‘AGM and Colloquy’.  Winning entries are eligible to be published in full on the website, and extracts from winning entries are also eligible for publication in the journal Comparative Critical Studies.


Contact Richard Hibbitt for more information.

Assisted by competent bilingual readers specialising in the literatures for which entries are received, the judges are selected from the following:

Dr Jacob Blakesley (Chair) (Academic Fellow in World Literatures and Translation Studies, University of Leeds)

Professor Susan Bassnett (Professor of Comparative Literature, University of Glasgow/Warwick)

Dr Emily Finer (Senior Lecturer in Russian and Comparative Literature, University of St Andrews)

Dr Stuart Gillespie (Reader, University of Glasgow and Founding Editor, Translation and Literature)

Dr Maike Oergel (Associate Professor in German Studies, University of Nottingham)

Professor Wen-chin Ouyang (Professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature, SOAS)

Dr Karen Seago (Director of Translation Studies, City University London)

Professor Martin Sorrell  (Professor of Modern Languages, University of Exeter)

Robert Chandler (Translator)

See the previous winners of the John Dryden Translation Competition.

Image Credit: Department of English, University of Sheffield

The entry fees can now be paid for via a secure online store at the University of Leeds:

Scroll to Top