Announcement: Inaugural BCLA First Book Prize 2025 (deadline 1 January 2024)

We are delighted to announce the launch of the BCLA First Book Prize, which will recognise an outstanding first monograph in the field of comparative literature.

The BCLA First Book Prize 2025 will be awarded to a book published between 1st January 2021 and 31st December 2023. The prize of £500 will be presented at the BCLA Anniversary Conference in 2025.

The prize committee for the BCLA First Book Prize 2025 includes five judges:

1. Professor Ziad Elmarsafy (King’s College London)

2. Professor Francesca Orsini (SOAS)

3. Dr Ian Ellison (University of Kent / Goethe-Universität Frankfurt)

4. Dr Joanna Rzepa (University of Essex)

5. Dr Jessica Sequeira (University of Cambridge)

We encourage all BCLA members to nominate eligible titles. Authors are invited to self-nominate. The deadline to submit nominations is 1 January 2024.

For more details, please see:

My Account

We promote the scholarly study of literature, across languages and borders, national or other. Join Us.

Scroll to Top