John Dryden Translation Competition

John Dryden by John Michael Wright (b&w detail) © National Portrait Gallery, London
John Dryden by John Michael Wright (b&w detail)
© National Portrait Gallery, London

The British Comparative Literature Association organises a translation competition in memory of the first British poet laureate John Dryden (1631–1700), who was a literary critic, translator, and playwright as well as a poet. Sponsored jointly with the British Centre for Literary Translation at the University of East Anglia, the John Dryden Translation Competition awards prizes for unpublished literary translations from any language into English. Literary translation includes poetry, prose, or drama from any period. There are three prizes of £350, £200, and £100; other entries may receive commendations. All three prizes also include one-year BCLA membership.

Prize-winners are announced in the summer on the BCLA website and prizes are presented thereafter every year at the BCLA ‘AGM and Colloquy’. Winning entries are eligible to be published in full on the website, and extracts from winning entries are also eligible for publication in Comparative Critical Studies.

Assisted by competent bilingual readers specialising in the literatures for which entries are received, the judges are selected from the following:

Dr Glyn Hambrook (Senior Lecturer, University of Wolverhampton and Editor, Comparative Critical Studies)

Dr Maike Oergel (Associate Professor, University of Nottingham and Editor, Comparative Critical Studies)

Dr Stuart Gillespie (Reader, University of Glasgow and Founding Editor, Translation and Literature)

Professor Wen-chin Ouyang (SOAS)

Robert Chandler (Translator)

The winners of the John Dryden Translation Competition for 2015-2016 have been announced. The jury has evaluated translations from a range of languages into English and awarded the following:

First prize: Keith Lander and Carla Scarano D’Antonio for Selected Poems by Eugenio Montale (Tutte le poesie)

Second prize: Krzysztof Majer for Squatting Down by Andrzej Stasiuk (Kucajac)

Commendation: Clarissa Botsford for Geology of a Father by Valerio Magrelli (Geologie di un padre)

See the previous winners of the John Dryden Translation Competition.

For conditions of entry and further details download the John Dryden Translation Competition 2017-2018 Entry Form. Entries will be received from September 2017, and the deadline for submissions is 12 February 2018.

Entries, each consisting of source text, your translation, an entry form, and the entry fee, should be sent to:

Dr Karen Seago
John Dryden Translation Competition
Department of Culture and Creative Industries
School of Arts and Social Sciences, City University London
London, EC1V 0HB, UK

Contact for more information.